The Great Balancing Act

June 17, 2010 at 7:18 AM 1 comment

by: Jennifer Perez

The Great Balancing Act… if you stop just for a moment and reflect on your day, week or month, you will soon see that life is in fact a balancing act.  I was fortunate enough to be able to tune into a The New Toginet Radio yesterday where Stacey Kannenberg-Get Ready to Learn Mom interviewed Amy Hilbrich Davis of Inspiring Moms. Amy has created the Balance Map: Mom Road Map which is “a personalized guide for all moms to achieve greater balance, success, and happiness in their lives.”( I actually won my very own Balance Map yesterday and I must say…it was spot on!  I am so thrilled to receive this research based information about myself so that I may be able to lead a more balanced life! )

When the interview was over, I had the opportunity to reflect on my own life and my own ‘balancing act’ so to speak and realized that as adults, we do have many responsibilities: career, extracurriculars, church, children, your children’s extracurriculars and the list can go on and on! If we as adults feel the pressures of everyday life, then do our children feel the pressure as well?

Nowadays, it is becoming more and more popular for kids to be involved in extracurriculars at any early age.  I have seen my 3rd graders balance athletics, music, dance AND be expected to perform well at school!  This is a lot to balance for such a young person and yet, these pressures continue to grow as they work their way to adulthood!  I am a believer that a child should be well-rounded, but our little ones must be taught HOW to balance their lives from a young age and modeling these behaviors for then can be an excellent way for them to learn!

I plan on taking full advantage of my personalized Balance Map from Inspiring Moms, Amy Hilbrich Davis, and making some changes in my life to not only benefit me, but my entire family!  Be the change that you want to see in your life and you will experience great joy!!

Happy Learning and Balancing!!

Entry filed under: Blog. Tags: , , , , .

Time-Tastic Back to the classroom I go…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stacey Kannenberg  |  June 17, 2010 at 11:43 PM

    I am so happy YOU are taking the time to plan out your own balance strategy! To balancing it all!!!
    Smiles – Stacey

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Unlocking your child's potential."

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates


