My 1st Professional Training of the Summer

June 22, 2010 at 7:38 AM Leave a comment

And the journey continues…..

Luckily for me, I was able to sign up, and get into, my 1st Professional Training session of the summer titled-Reading Vocabulary  K-5. The training was absolutely amazing and I am so very grateful that I was able to attend to soak up the knowledge.  There were many key points that were discussed and I now have a ton of research, planning and writing to do…all thanks to this training!

The main focus of the training was to discuss/learn different ways of implementing vocabulary instruction in our classrooms across the different content areas.  One of the best ways to do such a thing is called a Read Aloud.  A Read Aloud is a book chosen BY the teacher , for a particular purpose, and read aloud to the class. Purposes for read alouds include: modeling fluent reading, introducing new authors/styles, introducing a new topic or extending a lesson.

By choosing the correct read alouds, we have the power to introduce not only our students, but our children to content rich material and build their vocabularies all at the same time. “Children who enter school with limited vocabulary knowledge grow more discrepant over time from their peers who have rich vocabulary knowledge.” (Baker, Simmons, Kame’enui, 1997)

With this new found knowledge and respect for vocabulary, I personally plan on making it a goal of mine to not only expand my vocabulary, but to also MODEL this vocabulary for my daughter and my future students in the Fall. I sure am appreciative of this course and all that I was able to receive from taking it!

“The best way to foster vocabulary growth is to promote wide reading.” (Anderson, 1992)

Entry filed under: My journey back to the classroom. Tags: , , , , .

Building Vocabulary with Books! Graphing the Weather

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Unlocking your child's potential."

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates


