Tabbing Read Alouds: A Guide for Teachers

June 30, 2010 at 7:18 AM Leave a comment

by: Jennifer Perez

Every teacher knows that planning is the key in making a difference in children’s lives!  It is impossible to just ‘show up’ for the school day and make things happen.  As teachers, we must plan in order for our students to have those ‘AHA’ moments.

One way to create teachable moments is through the use of Teacher Read Alouds.  As mentioned in My 1st Professional Training of the Summer, a Read Aloud is a “book chosen BY the teacher, for a particular purpose. Purposes for Read Alouds include: modeling fluent reading, introducing new authors/styles, introducing a new topic or extending a lesson.”

Taking advantage of extra time

Since it’s summer, why not take advantage of the extra time and begin tabbing some of those teachable moments, skills or standards and get some of the planning done in advance?

I’ve already begun to tab some of my favorite picture books that I am SURE my students are going to enjoy!

What you will need: Books and Post-it-Notes…..It’s that EASY!

Mrs. Perez’s Tabbed Read Alouds

One of my favorite things about being a teacher is sharing new information and ideas with others! I know the feeling when I learn something completely new and wonder, “ why didn’t I think of that?” I’m here to help you with those moments and share a few of my favorite Read Alouds and how I tabbed them for classroom use.

1. The Little Bit Scary People by: Emily Jenkins

This book is wonderful for discussing:

  • Character/Character Traits
  • Not judging a book by it’s cover
  • Different kinds of emotions
  • Extracurricular Activities

2. Dear Mrs. LaRue by: Mark Teague

This book uses provides excellent examples of:

  • Transitional words and phrases
  • The use of ‘voice’ in writing
  • Modeling sentence variety
  • Verbs

3. The Journey-Stories of Migration by: Cynthia Rylant

This book provides excellent examples of:

  • Modeling sentence variety
  • Transitional words and phrases
  • Facts

** Also does a fantastic job telling several stories about animal migration.

Tabbing books has proven to be an extremely useful tool in my classroom.  The benefits not only benefit my students, but they also benefit me as a teacher.  There is nothing better than planning a lesson and your students learning from the hard work of YOUR planning ahead!  Go ahead…..Tab those Read Alouds…..I double dare you!

Happy Learning!

Entry filed under: Teacher Tips. Tags: , , , , .

Individualized Learning Space (I.L.S.) 4th of July fun!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Unlocking your child's potential."

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates


