Making Mistakes=Learning Opportunities

July 20, 2010 at 7:02 AM 2 comments

by: Jennifer Perez

Repeat after me, “It’s ok to make mistakes. It’s ok to make mistakes.”  As adults, we do not like to think that making mistakes is acceptable.  Majority of us parents are constantly on the go: taking the kids to school, running errands, keeping the house in order, running businesses, etc…..

With such a LONG list of Things To Do-mistakes just simply aren’t welcome!  I was definitely guilty of this kind of thinking! That was until I had some time to reflect on my life and to re-evaluate those things that seemed to be “important.”

Now that I am a mommy, I constantly ask myself, “What do I want to teach my daughter in situation ABC?” When I make a mistake do I want to show my daughter how I get frustrated, pout or stress? OR do I want to teach my daughter that we are ALL humans and making mistakes is a part of life?  I have finally reached a point in my life where I welcome mistakes because I know that I will experience personal growth from it.

The Message!

Here is the message that I would like to share with all of you~ It is okay to make mistakes!  Making mistakes allows for learning opportunities to take place in your lives!  Welcome mistakes….just learn from them and try your hardest not to repeat them.  Be a model for your children and point out mistakes that you have made, what you have learned from them and how you plan to move on from it.

By modeling this message, you are sending such a powerful example for your children!!

Repeat after me, “It’s ok to make mistakes. I welcome them!”

Happy Learning!

© Jennifer Perez 7/20/10

Entry filed under: Parent Tips. Tags: , , , .

Cinquain Writing 27 days….

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. koriclarkdesigns  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:49 AM

    It’s a constant learning process, but you are so right!! Thank you for the inspirations!

    Reply
    • 2. imtjen  |  July 20, 2010 at 11:49 AM

      It really is a learning process! As soon as we realize that then the sooner we can teach that to our kids!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Unlocking your child's potential."

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates


