Going Back to School…EARLY!

August 13, 2010 at 6:29 AM 2 comments

by: Jennifer Perez

It’s no surprise; you all know that I am going back to teaching this year!  In our school district, Hillsborough County, teachers do not need to report to school until Monday, August 16, 2010.  Many principals allow their teachers to work in their classrooms the week prior to returning back to school.  I for one, genuinely appreciate this gesture and have fully taken advantage of it!

With the flexibility of going to school ‘whenever’ this week, I’ve been able to work in my classroom and bring my daughter along to help!  While I was shoving shelves into corners, Peyton was wiping shelves.  As I was strategically placing student desks into their perfect positions, Peyton was wiping shelves.  While I organized books into the book bins, Peyton was wiping shelves!!  (Peyton LOVES using her wipes to clean!)

Needless to say, with the few extra hours that I’ve been able to spend in my room, I’ve been able to make a decent dent in the huge task of creating the perfect learning environment for my students!  I’ve attached a few before pictures of my classroom and I will share the after pictures as soon as I can!

This view of the classroom is from the back of the room.  The student desks are in no particular order in this photo…yet!

Here is the right side of my classroom near the entryway to the room.  This is where I will set up our Guided Reading corner where I will pull small reading groups each day!

This area of the room is in the very back of the classroom.  Once it is all put together, this is where the classroom library will be.  I can’t wait for this area to be up and running!

After pictures of my classroom to be posted soon….

Happy Learning!

© Jennifer Perez 8/12/10

Entry filed under: My journey back to the classroom. Tags: , , , , .

Beach Bound Mental Nutrition

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey Kannenberg  |  August 13, 2010 at 12:23 PM

    Peyton needs to come to class with you daily to keep wiping to get rid of all those germs and help keep your classroom kids healthy!!

    Can’t wait to see what your classroom looks like once you fill it with all your learning love!

    Happy Back to School!

    Reply
  • 2. imtjen  |  August 13, 2010 at 3:25 PM

    I know right Stacey?! That would be awesome! Working hard to get my room ready…pictures coming soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Unlocking your child's potential."

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates


