Ready or not…Here they come!

August 23, 2010 at 6:02 AM 2 comments

by: Jennifer Perez

This year, Open House was held during our Pre-Planning week, which was different from years past.  No worries though!!  I have worked OH SO VERY diligently on getting my classroom ready for not only my parent’s Open House, but for my future kiddos!  I was thrilled to have had the opportunity to meet 10 out of 18 of my student’s parents in a one hour period.  I always value face-to-face time with my parents because it allows me, their child’s teacher, an opportunity to create that teacher-parent relationship.  In my classroom, the teacher-parent relationship plays a major role in my student’s learning.  I encourage my student’s parents to visit as often as they would like, to call me as often as they need and to schedule conferences as often as they would like. By doing this, I am trying to build this team so that we may work together for the betterment of not only one child, but ALL of them!

To help along the evening, a friend of mine helped to provide some refreshments which were all very appreciated by my students and their parents! I love these small gestures because it brings a smile to everyone’s faces on a day that can potentially be stressful and nerve-racking for families.

Cupcakes were created by my dear friend Lindsey of Bella Grace Party Designs.  The adorable ‘Welcome Back’ design was created by Pen and Paper Flowers.  They were a HUGE hit with my visiting parents and students!

The small bottles of ‘Welcome Back’ water were high in demand!  Some parents had to visit several rooms this evening so the water was a nice way to quench their thirst!

As you all prepare for your Open Houses, I encourage you to think about the importance of this evening.

Considerations for Open House ~

What do you want to accomplish?

Do you need to hand anything out?

Can paperwork be filled out?

Do you just want to build that teacher-parent relationship?

Planning ahead for such events will/can make a HUGE impact on the rest of your school year!

Happy Learning!

© Jennifer Perez 8/23/10

Entry filed under: My journey back to the classroom. Tags: , .

Substitute Plans- A Sample Commonly used Prefixes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. koriclarkdesigns  |  August 23, 2010 at 7:51 AM

    Looks like a complete success! What a way to start your trip back to school right!! Good luck with the new school year!

    Reply
    • 2. imtjen  |  August 30, 2010 at 7:24 PM

      Thanks Kori! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Unlocking your child's potential."

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates


