Hispanic Heritage

September 27, 2010 at 7:41 PM Leave a comment

by: Jennifer Perez

Just what is Hispanic Heritage Month?  According to Hispanic Heritage Month.gov, “Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.”

As a teacher, I feel that it is extremely important to create ‘experiences’ for my students. If they do not have the schema, or background knowledge, to support certain lessons, then that’s alright!  It is my job as their teacher to help them to create it!

Each year, I brainstorm ways of creating lessons that teach my students the importance of Hispanic Heritage Month.  I like to incorporate:

  1. Technology-Short video clips and virtual tours are excellent ways to ‘hook’ my students.
  2. Text- I enjoying searching for a variety of text and flooding the room with MANY options.  A few options include poetry, Realistic Fiction, articles and magazine clips.
  3. Writing- I encourage my students to reflect upon their thinking

So where do I start?

There are tons of resources at our fingertips…we just need to locate them and use them!  Personally, I always begin with an Internet search to find the most up to date information; whether it is in books, articles, sites or virtual tours. Next, I determine what I can and cannot use for my current class.  As teachers, we know that each year brings a new set of students, completely different from the previous year.  (It is important to keep this in mind when planning any subject!)

Suggested Resources to use in planning your Hispanic Heritage Month Unit.

After some research, I have pulled together the following resources to help me teach my students about Hispanic Heritage Month.

  1. http://www.hispanicheritagemonth.gov/
  2. http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/hispanic/
  3. http://www.biography.com/hispanic-heritage/

This site contains excellent short clips to share with your students.

  1. http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/heritage_month/index.html
  2. My Diary from Here to There by: Amada Irma Perez
  3. Harvesting Hope: The story of Cesar Chavez by: Kathleen Krull
  4. Famous Hispanic Americans by: Janet Morey

There are MANY other resources available out there that can be used to create amazing lessons for your students.  I hope that these few will get you on your way!  Please feel free to share any other resources you may find!

Happy Learning!

© Jennifer Perez 9/26/10

Entry filed under: Family Activities. Tags: , , , , , .

Let’s Get Ready for Kindergarten and First Grade! (Book Giveaway!) My Early Start!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Unlocking your child's potential."

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates


