New Years Resolutions for Kids

December 29, 2010 at 9:28 PM 1 comment

by: Jennifer Perez

As adults, we understand what it means to make a New Years Resolution.  It is the one time each and every year where we take some time to reflect on the past year-what we’ve done vs. what we haven’t done and what we plan on conquering in the year to come!  While reflecting on the past year, I was able to set my own New Years Resolutions for 2011.  As I was writing them down, I couldn’t help but think, “These resolutions are exactly like goal-setting.  Why not teach children and students to set goals/resolutions as well??”

If you have children ages preschool age and up, consider helping them set their very own New Years Resolutions.  It would be helpful to explain to them what a New Years Resolution is and how similar it is to goal-setting.  After your discussion, encourage your child/student to reflect on the past year and brainstorm for their 2011 new Years Resolutions. Please remind your child of the following:

  • ALL resolutions should be age-appropriate
  • Resolutions/Goals should be ones that are attainable
  • Keep the resolutions anywhere between 3-5 different resolutions

The following are some examples of New Years Resolutions from the American Academy of Pediatrics. (You can find even more suggestions on their site).

Preschoolers

  • I will clean up my toys and put them where they belong.
  • I will brush my teeth twice a day, and wash my hands after going to the bathroom and before eating.
  • I won’t tease dogs or other pets – even friendly ones. I will avoid being bitten by keeping my fingers and face away from their mouths.

Children 5 to 12 years old

  • I will try to find a sport (like basketball or soccer) or an activity (like playing tag, jumping rope, dancing or riding my bike) that I like and do it at least three times a week!
  • I will always wear a helmet when bicycling.
  • I will wear my seat belt every time I get in a car. I’ll sit in the back seat and use a booster seat until I am tall enough to use a lap/shoulder seat belt.

Children 13 years old and up

  • I will help out in my community – through volunteering, working with community groups or by joining a group that helps people in need.
  • When I feel angry or stressed out, I will take a break and find constructive ways to deal with the stress, such as exercising, reading, writing in a journal or discussing my problem with a parent or friend.
  • When faced with a difficult decision, I will talk about my choices with an adult whom I can trust.

Hope everyone has had a blessed 2010!  Here is to an even better 2011…Cheers!

Happy Resolution Writing!

© Jennifer Perez 12/29/10

Entry filed under: Parent Tips. Tags: , , , .

The Benefits of Keeping a Journal Math Bingo

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Unlocking your child's potential."

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


